Interview on Experience in Game Programming

Anything else
zzwerty

Interview on Experience in Game Programming

Post by zzwerty » Wed Sep 11, 2013 5:01 am

Hi everyone. I'm a year 10 student from Australia, and we have this subject called Personal Learning Plan here which is compulsory for Year 10s at our school, and for the subject it is required that we carry out an interview with a person in an occupation of our choice. Of course I stupidly chose Game Programmer and then realized I knew no-one who's worked in Game Programming. I've asked David via twitter to no response and also the developers of Sui Generis, but the project is due this Friday. Would anyone here who's worked in the game industry or even just hobbyist programming be happy to answer these three questions?

1. How did you get into game programming as an occupation?
2. Do you enjoy your job?
3. How is your job's routine?

Thanks

Korban3

Re: Interview on Experience in Game Programming

Post by Korban3 » Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:55 pm

I can, if you'd like. I'm not the most experienced, but I'm definitely not quite an amateur anymore. Here are my answers, for what they're worth. If you need a demo of the game I'm working on, I can furnish that as well, even though it isn't much yet.

EDIT: Actually, I'd be completely happy to furnish some source code if you want to show that off, too. Not sure how in-depth any of this has to be, but that option's there if you'd like it.

1. How did you get into game programming as an occupation?
I originally played a lot of games as a kid. One day, I sort of realized that someone out there made video games, that they didn't just exist and decided that I wanted to make them too. Was probably only 7 or 8, but I was young and had stars in my eyes, so to speak.

2. Do you enjoy your job?