Need Help Installing a Video Card

Anything else
Zantalos
The Postman

Need Help Installing a Video Card

Post by Zantalos » Fri Aug 24, 2007 10:42 pm

I'm having some trouble putting in a video card. I've never done it before, so I'm a little confused.

Here's what happened. I put in the video card, attached it to the motherboard, but then when I turned on the computer it started making a really loud ringing sound, I don't even know if it was coming from the speakers. So I turned off the computer, got the video card out, turned the computer back on and it said the whole, windows had quit unexpectedly due to some new hardware or software stuff, you can reboot normal or in safe mode, but it was fine.

Has anyone else encountered this ringing noise? Should I just allow this ringing noise to continue and turn the computer back on, or is this a really bad thing I shouldn't ignore?

David
Project Leader

Post by David » Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:36 pm

The motherboard usually has its own speaker that can play various beeps (or just one long beep), so it could be an error code from that. It is also possible that one of the wires in the computer is brushing up against a fan, or there is some kind of obstruction in the video card fan. I am not sure if any of those would create a sound that could be described as 'ringing' however.

Zantalos
The Postman

Post by Zantalos » Sat Aug 25, 2007 12:38 am

Yes it must be coming from the speaker on the motherboard because it was like an electronic ringing sound from the computer tower itself.

Now, how bad could this error code be to cause a beep like that.