Live Chat

i need help before i go completely insane ( monitor help)

Anything else

i need help before i go completely insane ( monitor help)

Postby deldero » Tue Oct 06, 2015 6:46 pm

i am almost exploding this monitor's cable.

if i set the monitor resolution to high, i get a (out of scale) message, and i can't see anything. the problem with that is, that once you setled the resolution for a game, you can't reset it, unless you are in the game itself.

that means i can't reset it, because i can't see anything other than the "out of scale" message, i can hear the menu and the mouse moving around, but i can't see it. Its some serius mental harassement.

4 of my games got fucked already, and i don't know what to do.

peaple on the steam forums ignore this type of posts, i have sended emails to the games companies, but they haven't replied.

i don't know what to do.

does anyone here knows how i reset a games resolution outside of the game?


and before somene say it, the steam launch options are for valve, and source games only.

thanks in advance for any kind of help.
User avatar
deldero
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 12:18 pm

Re: i need help before i go completely insane ( monitor help

Postby EPR89 » Tue Oct 06, 2015 7:19 pm

Many games have ini files, or setting files, or stuff like that. A text file in the installation folder or in your documents that lets you edit settings. Pretty much just like Overgrowth's config file.

But it sounds like this is primarily an issue with the monitor.
User avatar
EPR89
 
Posts: 1844
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: i need help before i go completely insane ( monitor help

Postby deldero » Tue Oct 06, 2015 7:35 pm

thanks for the help so far, really, i was starting to fell cornered with this problem.

about what i found.

i found this:

1 main: Starting with cmdline 'T3MAIN.exe \\.\DISPLAY1 "dummy" HauntedHouse1?-LoadTravel?-LoadSave?-ObjectFilter=7?DestTeleporter="HauntedHouse" '
6 main: Adjusting default video mode to \\.\DISPLAY1 1024x768x32 @ 60 Hz
10 SetDisplayMode(1024, 768, 32, 60, 268435457), result = 0
13 InitInstance: Full screen mode
15 MontiorEnumProc: Found monitor spec for '\\.\DISPLAY1' - m [ 0,0 - 1024,768 ] w [ 0,0 - 1024,728 ] - Primary
18 InitInstance: Creating window ( 0,0 - 1024 wide 768 tall )
26 Waiting for game to send process handle ... (ffffffff)
31 WndProc: Got WM_USER, game's process handle: 0000016C
161 Got game's process handle: 16c. Wait time: 6 ms.
164 Signaling event for game to terminate
168 Waiting up to 30000 ms. for game process to terminate
1316 Game process exited with code ffffffff
1316 main: Adjusting default video mode back to original \\.\DISPLAY1 1360x768x32 @ 60 Hz
1316 SetDisplayMode(1360, 768, 32, 60, 268435457), result = 0
2339 Synchronized launch, command args : 'HauntedHouse1?-LoadTravel?-LoadSave?-ObjectFilter=7?DestTeleporter="HauntedHouse" ' ...
2339 Creating process C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Thief Deadly Shadows\system\T3Main.EXE -display \\.\DISPLAY1 1024x768 HauntedHouse1?-LoadTravel?-LoadSave?-ObjectFilter=7?DestTeleporter="HauntedHouse"
2370 ... new process handle 31c
2370 Waiting for game to go exclusive ... ( 120000 ms delay )
7990 Game has signaled that it has exclusive mode, wait time: 5567 ms.
7994 Wait for game to go exclusive done, exiting.
7997 main: Exiting

i tried to rewritte the(InitInstance: Full screen mode) to start on windowed mode so i could mess with it, but it din't worked, i tried to change the resolution to, but i don't think i did it right. do you know what i should change?
User avatar
deldero
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 12:18 pm

Re: i need help before i go completely insane ( monitor help

Postby EPR89 » Tue Oct 06, 2015 8:04 pm

What is your monitor's native resolution and what is that file called?

It looks like a log file, not one hat lets you actually make changes to game settings.
User avatar
EPR89
 
Posts: 1844
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: i need help before i go completely insane ( monitor help

Postby deldero » Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:06 am

my native resolution is 1360 x 780

its a txt. file named "launcher"

i got a response for one of the companies i had send an email this morning, they told me how to reset the resolution in their game, and most likely any other game, unfortunetly, for the "thief deadly shadows" game, i am having trouble, because i am not finding their companies name on regedit.

i will paste their anser here anyway, because it helped me solve the issue on their game.

quote:
"Hi, sorry for the late reply, I was out of town.

The easiest way would be to force the game into windowed mode and then change the resolution:

1. Open the registry editor (press the Windows Start button, then type in "regedit" in the search bar).
2. go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/Acid Wizard Studio/DARKWOOD/
3. Look for the key named Fullscreen.
4. Double click it and change it from 0 to 1.

Alternatively, you can look for ScreenHeight and ScreenWidth and change those to the desired resolution!"

EDIT: i found the file in a game faqs forum, it was the last file, under a bunch of number named files.

it was the 125 folder...... damn 2004 logic.....
User avatar
deldero
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 12:18 pm

Re: i need help before i go completely insane ( monitor help

Postby Endoperez » Wed Oct 07, 2015 11:01 am

Also, since these are all problems with the game settings and not the game files, resetting all the settings (e.g. through reinstalling) should work.
User avatar
Endoperez
 
Posts: 5668
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 7:41 am
Location: cold and dark and lovely Finland

Re: i need help before i go completely insane ( monitor help

Postby deldero » Wed Oct 07, 2015 2:51 pm

i tried reinstalling, it din't worked, no worries now, i learned another way to fix it :p
User avatar
deldero
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 12:18 pm


Return to Randomness

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group