Bioshock not working....

Anything else
Post Reply
User avatar
Sandurz
Posts: 1105
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:55 pm
Location: My House

Bioshock not working....

Post by Sandurz » Fri Dec 18, 2009 8:11 pm

Well, again I come to you peeps about my problems with technology. As it ALWAYS does, windows seems to be fucking with me. I installed Bioshock without any problems, but when I launch it, it just crashes. No "this is the problem," just, "this has to close down, search for solution online?'

Does anyone know of a fix for this? If not, I just wasted $20.

User avatar
nerodx
confused couch potato
Posts: 987
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 11:20 am
Location: Cleveland (We're not Detroit!)
Contact:

Re: Bioshock not working....

Post by nerodx » Fri Dec 18, 2009 8:23 pm

That's strange, I never had any problems with my copy. You could try reinstalling, or you might be missing a requirement, it should say what those are on the box or manual if you have that, might wanna check. Otherwise I don't have a clue.

User avatar
Sandurz
Posts: 1105
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:55 pm
Location: My House

Re: Bioshock not working....

Post by Sandurz » Fri Dec 18, 2009 8:27 pm

I tried that like, 3 times after posting this. Nada. I have all the recommended reqs, so that can't be it.

Oh wells.

User avatar
Ragdollmaster
Posts: 2343
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 11:49 am
Location: Island of Lugaru

Re: Bioshock not working....

Post by Ragdollmaster » Fri Dec 18, 2009 9:01 pm

Double-check all the usual stuff eg make sure it's a clean install, that you're logged in as an administrator when trying to run the game, make sure you have the latest version of the game installed (if you're not sure do some research to see if there are any released patches for the game)

If all else fails try directly contacting the company for support instead of just looking at FAQs.

ilkondom
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 2:42 am

Re: Bioshock not working....

Post by ilkondom » Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:32 am

I haved the same problem with Jazz and Faust and many more games right click ot the exe select compability and make it windows 95 that will fix the problem

User avatar
TheBigCheese
Posts: 856
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 11:01 am
Location: Lost in the Alps.

Re: Bioshock not working....

Post by TheBigCheese » Tue Dec 22, 2009 2:13 pm

Try updating your drivers. Yep, I'm sure that's the problem. :wink:

User avatar
zoidberg rules
Posts: 1788
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 2:44 pm
Location: here, there everywhere...behind you!

Re: Bioshock not working....

Post by zoidberg rules » Wed Dec 23, 2009 6:34 am

TheBigCheese wrote:Try updating your drivers. Yep, I'm sure that's the problem. :wink:
i hate you...

so damn much... :x grr

User avatar
Endoperez
Posts: 5668
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 7:41 am
Location: cold and dark and lovely Finland

Re: Bioshock not working....

Post by Endoperez » Wed Dec 23, 2009 8:19 am

Post any error messages or logs Bioshock creates when it starts. As an example, if there's a problem with DirectX 10 drivers, there might be the following log file:
\2K Games\BioShock\Builds\Release\alkylog.txt

Also, you might want to give us (or the tech support guys who are paid to know how to solve these problems) such as your OS, other relevant hardware, etc etc.

User avatar
Fournine
.hacker
Posts: 938
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 3:07 am
Location: Boron group, period 5

Re: Bioshock not working....

Post by Fournine » Wed Dec 23, 2009 1:32 pm

And where/how you bought the game.

Post Reply