No PhotoShop, No Terrain?

A secret forum for people who preorder Overgrowth!
Psmith

No PhotoShop, No Terrain?

Post by Psmith » Mon Dec 07, 2009 9:34 am

I had great hopes. I had great ambitions, and I still do. But look, I'm no programmer, I'm not an uber-technician . . . and I don't own PhotoShop or WorldMachine2. Are you telling me my poverty will keep me from experiencing the wonders of this engine?

I don't even mind having to alter an .xml file in order to see my creations.

There must be a much more straightforward way of introducing my own terrains into Overgrowth. I've tried .png heightmaps from all of my "terrain building" applications and from my generic graphics programs - only to result in miserable failures.

And, then, there is the matter of "Loading" my custom .xml level. I have no idea how long I'm supposed to wait before giving up and trying again. I don't know what all of the messages mean in the "console" window, (the one that launches when you click "Load"). I don't know, if, and when "Loading" gets stuck, when and where I'm supposed to press "Ctrl-F5".

If it sounds like I'm whining, it's because I am.

How many hours am I supposed to keep at this until something works by sheer "trial and error"?

On the positive side: I did succeed, (once), in getting "Lugaru2" to "Load" a custom terrain, but the height map was flat, (like the Wiki tutorials warned it would be) - the other textures seemed to be mapped where they were supposed to be, however.

So, the problem lies with the .png files generated by everything other than WorldBuilder2 or an "actual", "real" copy of Adobe Photoshop.

Are there any other possible workarounds?

Psmith
Last edited by Psmith on Mon Dec 07, 2009 11:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

RabidRabbit

Re: No PhotoShop, No Terrain?

Post by RabidRabbit » Mon Dec 07, 2009 10:31 am

Shear should be spelt Sheer.

tokage

Post by tokage » Mon Dec 07, 2009 10:42 am