Receiver locked at 60fps, I have 120hz monitor

The place to discuss all things Receiver.
Post Reply
user5124
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:16 am

Receiver locked at 60fps, I have 120hz monitor

Post by user5124 » Tue Sep 04, 2012 4:05 am

Anyone know how to get this game to run at 120fps?

It feels very slow at 60fps.

Great game, though.

edit: searched whole forum for "120", didn't get anything back

User avatar
Constance
Overgrowth Modder Deluxe
Posts: 2392
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 2:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Receiver locked at 60fps, I have 120hz monitor

Post by Constance » Wed Sep 05, 2012 8:53 pm

Wooooaaahhhh, 60 FPS? And it doesn't change?
Holy crap!

user5124
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:16 am

Re: Receiver locked at 60fps, I have 120hz monitor

Post by user5124 » Thu Sep 06, 2012 3:13 am

My system might be capable of running it at 120fps, but I don't know. The game itself seems limited to 60fps.

It's not a big deal, but it would be nice to be able to run the game super smoothly!

I think 120fps monitors will become more common, so perhaps we'll get more threads like this in the future..?

User avatar
Constance
Overgrowth Modder Deluxe
Posts: 2392
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 2:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Receiver locked at 60fps, I have 120hz monitor

Post by Constance » Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:34 am

user5124 wrote:My system might be capable of running it at 120fps, but I don't know. The game itself seems limited to 60fps.

It's not a big deal, but it would be nice to be able to run the game super smoothly!

I think 120fps monitors will become more common, so perhaps we'll get more threads like this in the future..?
That actually sounds really fast! I've never been able to play Receiver that fast in ever!

user5124
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:16 am

Re: Receiver locked at 60fps, I have 120hz monitor

Post by user5124 » Fri Sep 07, 2012 3:58 am

You don't realise how slow 60 is until you have the hardware to run at 120.

It's amazing. If you have money for a 120fps monitor..it's worth it! :shock:

Dark_Force
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 11:52 pm

Re: Receiver locked at 60fps, I have 120hz monitor

Post by Dark_Force » Wed Sep 12, 2012 8:58 pm

I know how AWESOME soild 60 fps is, but 120 sounds really hard to get.

User avatar
Korban3
Posts: 4146
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:14 pm
Location: 42nd St E, Hell

Re: Receiver locked at 60fps, I have 120hz monitor

Post by Korban3 » Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:42 pm

I feel like the poor kid who has to tell a Republican that not everyone is privileged.
I am lucky if I can play a game and get 20 FPS. I hate to be a prick, but it sounds ignorant as hell to say that 60 fps isn't good enough.

EDIT: Oh shit, I forgot. I am that poor kid :/
Except I'm not a kid and I'm not sure if you're a Republican.

user5124
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:16 am

Re: Receiver locked at 60fps, I have 120hz monitor

Post by user5124 » Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:18 am

I'm just a guy who bought a new computer after suffering with a terrible one for a very long time.

I had to rub my video card to get the computer to turn on (yes, really). :lol:

Now I'm really loving playing games at 90-120fps and since receiver never goes below 60 I'm guessing 120 may be possible. Hopefully the developer can unlock it.

Finally, I'll say that once you get spoiled like this, 60 fps looks really terrible. Very very bad. It's incredibly choppy feeling. When a game you're playing goes from 120 to even 80, you really notice. :o

User avatar
Korban3
Posts: 4146
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 9:14 pm
Location: 42nd St E, Hell

Re: Receiver locked at 60fps, I have 120hz monitor

Post by Korban3 » Thu Sep 13, 2012 11:42 pm

I am sorry, but
wat

I imagine it has something to do with the VSync in Unity. Try catching David in the IRC channel. He can help you out, I imagine.

Post Reply