Overgrowth's story

Anything related to Wolfire Games and/or its products
xzener

Overgrowth's story

Post by xzener » Sun Aug 12, 2012 2:03 pm

I noticed Lugaru had a short story. I beat the story mode in a day and Im not good with tech so I just replay the chalanges. but, In Overgrowth can the story be way longer, not be a map and instead you could fast travel to places or free roam there like in skyrim,I love free roam and that would result in an instant preorder! and you could replay missions.

Korban3

Re: Overgrowth's story

Post by Korban3 » Sun Aug 12, 2012 2:37 pm

The game will be mission based as Lugaru was, but I believe David has plans to expand on the gameplay and storyline beyond what he was able to in Lugaru.
In fact, he already has. Now there is the possibility for mission goals involving avoiding capture and retrieving packages.
It won't be free roam because that's a ridiculous amount of dev time just to have the player spend half of their time in game walking from one city to another. It also removes much of the capability of telling a strong, solid story.
Ignoring the RPG component in this case, this graph show some different storyline types. I'd rather not see OG be one of the last two.

wfsw32

Post by wfsw32 » Mon Aug 13, 2012 12:35 pm

I honestly hope the narrative is good. Lugaru seemed to be full of cliches and seemed quite vapid. The gameplay was amazing but I hope that the quality in Overgrowth is greater than in Lugaru.

Count Roland

Post by Count Roland » Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:45 pm

The majority of lugaru was made before David was in high school, so that explains quite a bit.

Coincidence

Post by Coincidence » Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:13 pm

Given what I've read in the comic so far, the story can be expected to be a semi-dark fantasy, I suppose. It could be like if Bryan Jacques didn't give any regard for his target demographic.