Porting Windows Software (games) to Mac

Anything related to Wolfire Games and/or its products
Flickta

Porting Windows Software (games) to Mac

Post by Flickta » Wed Oct 13, 2004 6:27 am

Hi, everybody!

The situation: My friend is working at a game-dev. company. A Russian one. He had no knowledge of Mac-programming or even using the Macintosh. But I got him interested. Now that is where I need help. I'm not a programmer. I don't know the ins and outs of Mac OS from developer's point of view. I do not know anything about programming. But I have to answer his questions, or at least try to find some answers. Jeff and David possibly have them... Or know where to get 'em. So, how about assistance? Names, website addresses, etc. You could help bring more games to Mac.

Thanks, Nik.

zip
lugaruguru

Post by zip » Wed Oct 13, 2004 12:42 pm

Well, if he is willing to invest money I would suggest he get some O'Reilly books on the subject.
If his games are written in OpenGL then porting becomes much easier, but if they are DirectX then they will have to be converted(a horrendous job).

Flickta

Post by Flickta » Wed Oct 13, 2004 11:39 pm

zip wrote:Well, if he is willing to invest money I would suggest he get some O'Reilly books on the subject.
If his games are written in OpenGL then porting becomes much easier, but if they are DirectX then they will have to be converted(a horrendous job).
Books are not an option. After all, he is currently researching the feasibility of porting in his spare time. It's a hobby, and the only Mac-user he knows is me. I'd prefer some web-based materials.

He is a huge fan of OpenGL, and writes software in C++ in -don't know exact name- Microsoft visual studio or something. Therefore the problem is (if to work on a Mac on games) to import/move project to xCode.

Well?

David
Project Leader

Post by David » Thu Oct 14, 2004 3:29 am

Lugaruman100
The wolfire forum member with no title.

Post by Lugaruman100 » Fri Oct 15, 2004 2:04 am