Random problem

Anything related to Wolfire Games and/or its products
Ubis_Anubis

Random problem

Post by Ubis_Anubis » Wed Feb 04, 2015 12:38 am

I have just recently gotten the game and obtained access to sum launcher today and i have a strange issue that i don't know if it is associated with sum launcher, but i would guess it is because i didn't have any issues before. the problem is that whenever i have tried to start the game, it gives a black screen and doesn't do anything. don't get me wrong, i'm a complete noob with this kind of stuff and am probably just forgetting something trivial, but i really am stuck and have no idea how to fix this, some help would be greatly appreciated, thanks. :)

EPR89

Re: Random problem

Post by EPR89 » Wed Feb 04, 2015 1:14 am

Overgrowth related issues go in the SPF.

I find it hard to believe that this is caused by the SUMLauncher. I have just reinstalled the game today and have added a few custom maps and items with the SUMLauncher and it is running fine. The program doesn't really change anything about the game anyway. It just adds custom files and alters the main menu a bit.

The first thing you should try is go into your documents, locate the WOlfire folder in there and delete the Data folder in there. That's the game's cache. It's kind of a stab in the dark, but maybe it fixes it.
If that doesn't work try to completely uninstall the game, then do a fresh installation and see if it runs like that. Then, use the SUMLauncher again and see if your issue returns. Checking it that way could limit the possibilities at least somewhat.

Endoperez

Post by Endoperez » Wed Feb 04, 2015 3:42 am

I can't really add anything on what EPR said, but I'd like to explain what cache is.