TWEAKING TRICKS

The place to discuss all things Lugaru.
Post Reply
serp
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 4:31 pm
Contact:

Horrificly long dissection of Box.solid

Post by serp » Wed May 25, 2005 2:23 pm

ok here it is. The bad news is I only figured out part of the file. The good news is that this part is, at the moment, the most important part to us, the coordinates for the vertices. :D Anyway beware the very long post about to be posted. >.> But first, the fruit of my labors. :D
http://s93409766.onlinehome.us/Screenshot001.jpg
Fear the great pyramids in all the glory of their 10 minute thrown together needed to be rotated texturing!!! oh and behold my incomplete rabbit texture hand drawn with a wacom tablet >.> Anyway, that used to be a box and all i did was set the x and z coordinates( x being horizontal and z being depth) of the top 4 vertices to 0 or 0000. Anyway here is my "Dissection" of the Box.solid file.

These were the coordinates I viewed them as when, in mapping mode, the rotation was set to 0.
x is horizontal
z is depth
y is vertical

0008 <- I wasn't sure until I began to write this but I think I may see it. a cube has 8 vertices and 0008 converts to 8 in decimal. so its a possibility. If its true it means we can custom edit the number of vertices.

In the following hex I really don't know exactly what the first 4 digit numbers mean. in the first one, 000C C1C8, 000C converts to 12 and, in a cube, there are 12 lines. But, because all the faces have to be triangular each of the square faces is cut in half diagonally adding 6 extra lines so I'm not sure. After the crash when editing the 0008 I haven't tried to edit the first number of any of the coordinates again so I'm not sure what would happen. Anyway the second number dictates the actual coordinate, I think, or at least thats what happened when I edited them, It is always possible its just a coincidence it worked. I originally had put the coordinate descriptions as something like "top left back" but i realized its kind of hard to tell front and back but top and bottom is easy and left in right shows that the first 4 and the second 4 are on different sides.

top left
x 000C C1C8
z 0000 41B8
y 0003 C1B7

bottom left
x FFFD C1C8
z 0000 C1D0
y 0003 41CF

top left
x FFFC C1C8
z 0000 C1CF
y FFFC C1B8

bottom left
x 0003 C1C8
z 0000 41B7
y FFFC 41D0

top right
x 0003 41C8
z 0000 41B8
y 0003 C1B7

top right
x FFFD 41C8
z 0000 C1CF
y FFFC C1B8

bottom right
x 0003 41C8
z 0000 C1D0
y 0003 41CF

bottom right
x FFFC 41C8
z 0000 41B7
y FFFC 41D0

Anyway the above hex looks like this in decimal:
8
12 -15928
0 16824
3 -15945

-3 -15928
0 -15920
3 16847

-4 -15928
0 -15921
-4 -15944

3 -15928
0 16823
-4 16848

3 16840
0 16824
3 -15945

-3 16840
0 -15921
-4 -15944

3 16840
0 -15920
3 16847

-4 16840
0 16823
-4 16848

When I thought up what it might be the other day i used the coordinates(the big numbers) to draw out the shape in blender to see if i was actually right. to do that i shrunk the numbers down to decimals so 16840 was 16.840. Anyway it worked.


I opened up a .obj document and noticed how there were different sections of the file. One section for the vertices, one section for "vn"(not quite sure), and one section for the lines. From this, and Crill3 showing how the texture was messed up, I believe the section below controls the lines and the texture mapping. This is the section I really haven't had time to test out and not sure really how I would(there is always trial and error >.>). Besides the coordinates is really the important part for editing the file at the moment. Although if we can figure out how to control the lines and mapping then we will be able to add more lines and change the entire shape of a model. :D Also from what I saw in an obj, It places all 3 coordinates of a vertex on 1 line and then uses the line numbers of the file to simplify how the lines are written. At least thats what I think it meant. ^_^;

0003 0002
0001 0001
0000 0000
0000 3F80
0000 3300
0000 3F80
0000 3F80
0000 3F80
0000 0000
0000 0000
0001 0001
0003 0003
0000 3F80
0000 3300
0000 3300
0000 0000
0000 3F80
0000 0000
0000 0004
0000 0000
0003 0003
0000 3F80
0000 3F80
0000 0000
0000 3F80
0000 3380
0000 3380
0000 0000
0005 0005
0002 0002
0000 0000
0000 3F80
0000 0000
0000 0000
0000 3F80
0000 3F80
0000 0002
0006 0006
0001 0001
0000 3F80
0000 3300
0000 3300
0000 0000
0000 3F7F
FFFE 0000
0000 0001
0007 0007
0003 0003
0000 3300
0000 3F80
0000 3300
0000 3F80
0000 0000
0000 0000
0000 0004
0003 0003
0007 0007
0000 3F80
0000 0000
0000 0000
0000 3F80
0000 3380
0000 3F80
0000 0005
0000 0000
0004 0004
0000 3F80
0000 0000
0000 3F80
0000 3F80
0000 0000
0000 0000
0000 0002
0005 0005
0006 0006
0000 3F80
0000 3F80
0000 3300
0000 0000
0000 3F7F
FFFE 3F7F
FFFE 0001
0006 0006
0007 0007
0000 3300
0000 3F80
0000 3F80
0000 3F80
0000 3F80
0000 0000
0000 0007
0006 0006
0004 0004
0000 0000
0000 0000
0000 3F80
0000 0000
0000 3F80
0000 0000
0000 0004
0006 0006
0005 0005
0000 3F80
0000 0000
0000 3F80
0000 0000
0000 3F80
0000 3F80
0000



So anyway thats what I discovered about the Box.solid file. Right now I'm testing how accurate I actually am about the coordinates by taking coordinates out of the body.solid file and placing them in 3d by hand making a videoscape format which is incredibly simple :D. Also its easier and less time consuming to place coordinates in a doc them moving them in a 3d plane individually. >.< Even so, I've got 92 coordinates in the file, and, if I am right about how the first number in the file is the number of vertices, then I have 371 more vertices to go -.- Aw well. But I am starting to already see the basic shape of a foot.

That's all I have right now, since I'm out of town at the moment I don't have internet in the evenings and thus have much time for tinkering with these files without distraction mwahahahahahahahaha! >.> *cough* I hope with what I've discovered we can begin to attempt to figure out how to make a file converter to convert .solid files to .obj or some other simple to edit format :D

and now to sit back, relax, and wait to see if anyone else posts in the next few hours :). Aw who am I kidding, I'm getting back to work on mapping out the coordinates for body.solid :D

User avatar
Blorx
NOT A FRIGGIN PROGRAMMER
Posts: 3272
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 4:01 pm
Location: South Carolina, United States
Contact:

Post by Blorx » Wed May 25, 2005 3:21 pm

Nice... 8) [OT]Krell...I know a Justin Krell...where do you live and are you related to a 10-11 year old Justin Krell?

btw, why does everyone always have a "fancy" I modded Lugaru somehow entrance?[/OT]

serp
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 4:31 pm
Contact:

Post by serp » Wed May 25, 2005 3:25 pm

Blorx wrote:Nice... 8) [OT]Krell...I know a Justin Krell...where do you live and are you related to a 10-11 year old Justin Krell?
Not that I'm aware of.
Blorx wrote:btw, why does everyone always have a "fancy" I modded Lugaru somehow entrance?[/OT]
I have no idea :D

User avatar
levbot
mad tweaker
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 7:02 pm
Location: berkeley, CA
Contact:

Post by levbot » Wed May 25, 2005 8:12 pm

woah... this is a major development. first, a few questions. are you using a mac, what is recourcer (i did a search on my computer and it wasn't on it), and I have no .obj files, just .solid files....

serp
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 4:31 pm
Contact:

Post by serp » Wed May 25, 2005 8:27 pm

levbot wrote:woah... this is a major development. first, a few questions. are you using a mac, what is recourcer (i did a search on my computer and it wasn't on it), and I have no .obj files, just .solid files....
First, yes I am using a mac. Second Resorcerer is a program available on the internet. Third I used .obj files i had created using other applications in order to compare the structure inside the file to .solid files. .obj files have absolutly nothing to do with lugaru at all.

Guest

Re: yes!

Post by Guest » Wed May 25, 2005 8:56 pm

levbot wrote:STAR WARS IS OUT!!!
in honor of the latest Star Wars, I equipped turner with a lightsaber, robe, and made a terrain just for him... in space!
http://img66.echo.cx/img66/5379/spacelugaru5tf.jpg
can you post the texceres folder forthat

User avatar
Crill3
Indecisive titler
Posts: 1935
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Post by Crill3 » Thu May 26, 2005 7:33 am

texceres..? Ah right:
Textures.

User avatar
levbot
mad tweaker
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 7:02 pm
Location: berkeley, CA
Contact:

Post by levbot » Thu May 26, 2005 5:56 pm

the issue with that tex file is that if you want it to be in spece, you have to use map editor, fly up so the ground isn't visibe, and then make a map. so the old maps will just be those maps with a different ground and a starry sky. If i do release that texture pack, I will include like 5 of my own space maps. didn't i already post this?

User avatar
Crill3
Indecisive titler
Posts: 1935
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Post by Crill3 » Fri May 27, 2005 9:11 am

No, you didn't.

serp
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 4:31 pm
Contact:

Post by serp » Fri May 27, 2005 2:56 pm

Mwahaha! I made another discovery! :D Not as great >.> or maybe more so <.<. Anyway. Well in trying to track down some idea of what the .solid files or "dmap" as Crill3 pointed out, (I checked, and yep it sais thats the file type. no dmap editors either though.), I opened up the actual luguru application in resorcerer and couldn't find anything directly v.v but! I found something very cool. I'm sure we all know of the "wolfieisgod", "funnybunny", "brown", "black", etc console commands to change textures and models. Well, I found where they are stored :D(May also be where the main filepaths are stored but im not sure) Seriously! Near the end of the application (do a search on one of the texture file names to find it) there are a bunch of shortcut type things that have names and then the filepath. All I did was edit one, I haven't tested adding one, you can actually change the file paths inside the application. This means that you can, as i did, change the filetypes used. I changed fur3.jpg to fur3.png and it worked! I actually wanted to see if I could gert transparency through the main texture but it didn't work so. :/ But among the file paths in this section of code are the soundfile paths. So, I believe, you can actually change the sounds that are used in the game :D mwahahaha. Anyway I'm currently looking at possible leads to converting the .solid files that I did find while looking in the application. There are interesting things I can do to figure it out. I mean it is using open gl. *cough*(I ran luguru through the xcode developer tools open gl debugger and now have a 250 mb text file listing every single function call done while loading luguru) *cough*
^_^ going to take a long time to look through though. T_T

Now on a completly random note I was cleaning old files off my 10.3 laptop last night and somehow the Desktop DB file in my root directory got deleated x.x Possibly something else got deleated as well -.- anyway it wont let me log in and diskwarrior can't do anything. I won't be able to do anything else with luguru until I get that fixed *sob* perhaps I have delved to deeply into it and this is luguru's wrath. <insert ominous thunder here> Meh. If worse comes to worse I have to backup all my stuff and reinstall -.- now where did I put my 10.3 disks x.x;;

Albab
This title is part one ...
Posts: 674
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:26 pm
Location: Somewhere on the interweb
Contact:

Post by Albab » Fri May 27, 2005 11:38 pm

Holy crap, thats incredible. I don't think I'll try it, though.

User avatar
Crill3
Indecisive titler
Posts: 1935
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Post by Crill3 » Sat May 28, 2005 2:10 am

Changing the sounds was like the first modding I tried....
(And it works)

Nayr
wicked bad-ass title
Posts: 643
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 9:35 am

Post by Nayr » Sat May 28, 2005 10:49 am

this is incredibly easy.
in the terminal, type in "strings lugaruapp", or whatever it is called. it's awesome.

User avatar
Crill3
Indecisive titler
Posts: 1935
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Post by Crill3 » Sat May 28, 2005 1:22 pm

Nayr wrote:this is incredibly easy.
in the terminal, type in "strings lugaruapp", or whatever it is called. it's awesome.
I can see no connection between this post and the others post, so I
assume this is a tip of some sort.
Why should I write "strings lugaru.app" in the terminal?

User avatar
Crill3
Indecisive titler
Posts: 1935
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Post by Crill3 » Sat May 28, 2005 1:25 pm

Aha. It spams mi Terminal!
Nice! But how do I change the "strings" then?
Me can see wolfz0risgod and other cheats there.
Edit: Me can do that thru the devt00ls? Me got devt00ls! Me wanna do! Me wanna doooo!.............me does not know how :(

Post Reply