Cannot change debug value in config.txt

The place to discuss all things Lugaru.
Post Reply
gameman581
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 1:23 pm

Cannot change debug value in config.txt

Post by gameman581 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:57 pm

The way to get into debug mode is to change the debug value right?

When I change the value and try to save config.txt it asks if I want to replace and I say yes, then it tells me "access is denied." I can't figure out what to do.

User avatar
Sandurz
Posts: 1105
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:55 pm
Location: My House

Re: Cannot change debug value in config.txt

Post by Sandurz » Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:11 pm

Try running as administrator. That worked for me.

gameman581
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 1:23 pm

Re: Cannot change debug value in config.txt

Post by gameman581 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:18 pm

It's on my laptop, so I thought I was admin, I'll check it out.

User avatar
Sandurz
Posts: 1105
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 10:55 pm
Location: My House

Re: Cannot change debug value in config.txt

Post by Sandurz » Thu Jan 21, 2010 6:37 pm

Well, it depends on what OS you have, I know that in some windows OS's there's a hidden admin account. I don't know about Macs though, or Linux.

gameman581
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 1:23 pm

Re: Cannot change debug value in config.txt

Post by gameman581 » Sat Jan 23, 2010 9:40 am

It's windows 7

User avatar
Wilbefast
Posts: 1204
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 2:32 pm
Location: In a sealed box shielded against environmentally induced quantum decoherence
Contact:

Re: Cannot change debug value in config.txt

Post by Wilbefast » Mon Jan 25, 2010 1:52 pm

gameman581 wrote:It's windows 7
ouch! I feel for you man :(

User avatar
Armored Wolf
Posts: 1267
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 7:35 am
Location: In Renegade_Turner's brain

Re: Cannot change debug value in config.txt

Post by Armored Wolf » Mon Jan 25, 2010 2:30 pm

Wilbefast wrote:
gameman581 wrote:It's windows 7
ouch! I feel for you man :(
...is Windows 7 bad? It pwns Vista.

User avatar
Wilbefast
Posts: 1204
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 2:32 pm
Location: In a sealed box shielded against environmentally induced quantum decoherence
Contact:

Re: Cannot change debug value in config.txt

Post by Wilbefast » Mon Jan 25, 2010 2:42 pm

Code: Select all

#include <stdio.h>

int main(int argc, char* argv[], char* envp[])
{
    printf ("Hello World!\n");
    return EXIT_SUCCESS;
}
Omg! I just pwned Vista :P

User avatar
tokage
Posts: 615
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 12:24 pm
Location: In a meat machine

Re: Cannot change debug value in config.txt

Post by tokage » Mon Jan 25, 2010 3:13 pm

Code: Select all

text('Hello world!').
hello:-text(X),write(X).

:-hello.
Prolog pwns C.

On the problem. Your current user needs write access to 'config.txt'. With my installation normal users didn't have this access. So go to 'config.txt' -> right click -> properties -> security -> edit(need admin password here) and add write and/or modifying access to the user you use.

gameman581
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 1:23 pm

Re: Cannot change debug value in config.txt

Post by gameman581 » Tue Jan 26, 2010 6:17 pm

Thanks! I changed users to full control, and it worked.

Mrblandandboring
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 10:13 am

Re: Cannot change debug value in config.txt

Post by Mrblandandboring » Wed Jul 07, 2010 10:18 am

i have also had that problem and i'm still struggling with it. I've tired it as admin but that didn't work. i dont know what i should do!! :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: please reply with any suggestions

oh i forgot: im using Vista and it says "could not create C:\program files\Black Shades\config.txt" also it says "make sure path and file name are correct"

User avatar
tannim
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 5:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot change debug value in config.txt

Post by tannim » Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:00 pm

Try uninstalling the game, then re-installing the game to something like C:\Games\ or some other directory that is NOT in Program Files or other system directories.

Post Reply