The Bugs Thread

A secret forum for people who preorder Overgrowth!
thingythekid
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 8:36 am
Location: Between a keyboard and a chair

Alpha 3 Error Messages on Mac Pro OS X 10.5

Post by thingythekid » Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:50 am

Build: Alpha 3
OS: Mac OS X 10.5.5
Settings: Default
Severity: Moderate (Error messages but no crash)

When loading the latest alpha build, during the phase when it outputs "Loading env object..." I see a number of OS X error boxes popping up, with the Overgrowth logo on the left hand side. They read as follows:

"OpenGL error
On line 904 of terrain.cpp:
Framebuffer Error"


"Error(s) in Data/GLSL/firstterrain.frag
ERROR: 0:9: '=' : cannot convert from 'const int' to '3-component vector of float'"


"Error(s) linking Data/GLSL/firstterrain.vert and Data/GLSL/firstterrain.frag
ERROR: One or more attached shaders not successfully compiled"


Then, after I click okay, around 5/6 seconds pass, and while the window still displays "Loading env object" the following messages show:

"OpenGL error
On line 398 of graphics.cpp:
invalid operation"


"OpenGL error
On line 939 of terrain.cpp:
Framebuffer error"


Following this, around another 10 seconds pass, and I see the terrain, which seems to be rendered as it should be. I've included a screen shot. I can fly around as normal, and receive low (15-20 fps) frame rates when looking at the tree, but around 40-60 fps everywhere else.

EDIT:
I've applied the fix that was suggested below my post by makr, by right clicking on the Overgrowth A3.app package, selecting "Show Package Contents", and navigating from there into the Contents directory, then the Data directory, then the GLSL directory, and changing the line in firstterrain.frag that reads "vec3 color = 0;" to "vec3 color = vec3(0,0,0);" using TextEdit. This has caused the error messages coloured in green above to stop showing, but those coloured in red remain. The terrain rendering now seems brighter. However, I intermittently get frame rates that will not rise above 2 fps from launch until closing the program. This bug's severity could be higher than I suggest above, if Kalexon's bug is the same one.

Unrelated, perhaps some server-side bug tracking software might be useful? It looks like this thread is going to get very long very quickly. Trac seems to work well for the Adium project.


Machine Specs:
Late 2006 Mac Pro, 2 x Dual Core Intel Xeon 2.66 GHz
5GB RAM (2 x 512MB, 2 x 2GB)
NVIDIA 7300GT 256MB VRAM
1280*1024 screen

Settings (Overgrowth.app/Contents/Data/config.txt):
screenwidth 1280
screenheight 720
fullscreen 0
vsync 0
multisample 4
anisotropy 4
post_effects 0
shaders 1
bindkey quit esc
bindkey slow tab
bindkey fast \
bindkey crouch lshift
bindkey jump space
bindkey console `
bindkey left a
bindkey right d
bindkey up w
bindkey down s
authload
Attachments
screenshot.jpg
Last edited by thingythekid on Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

makr
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 5:51 am

Alpha 3 Errors on Windows Vista [FIXED!]

Post by makr » Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:33 am

Something similar with Alpha 3 on Windows Vista 32bit:
(config.txt is the same as above)

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Error(s) in Data/GLSL/firstterrain.frag
---------------------------
Fragment shader failed to compile with the following errors:
WARNING: 0:9: implicit cast from int to floatERROR: 0:9: '=' :  cannot convert from 'const int' to '3-component vector of float'
ERROR:  compilation errors.  No code generated.

---------------------------
Error(s) linking Data/GLSL/firstterrain.vert and Data/GLSL/firstterrain.frag
---------------------------
Fragment shader(s) were not successfully compiled before glLinkProgram() was called.  Link failed. 
 
---------------------------
OpenGL error
---------------------------
On line 398 of graphics.cpp: 
invalid operation

---------------------------
OpenGL error
---------------------------
On line 939 of terrain.cpp: 
Framebuffer - missing attachment

---------------------------
OpenGL error
---------------------------
On line 230 of shaders.cpp: 
Invalid framebuffer operation

---------------------------
OpenGL error
---------------------------
On line 398 of graphics.cpp: 
Invalid framebuffer operation
After that, it finishes loading but the terrain is black.
alpha3screenshot.png
Specs:
AMD Athlon64 X2 4000+
ATI Radeon HD 3580
2GB RAM

Edit: shaders set to 0 in config.txt, the four "OpenGL error" messages still appear and the terrain is colored blue, pink and white.
alpha3screenshot_noshaders.png
Edit 2: Disregard all that, I fixed my problems:
Changed "vec3 color = 0;" to "vec3 color = vec3(0,0,0);" in firstterrain.frag and updated my ATI Drivers to 8.11; no more errors at all, renders perfectly.

kakashi1000
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:11 pm

Re: Alpha 3 Error Messages on Mac Pro OS X 10.5

Post by kakashi1000 » Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:31 pm

thingythekid wrote:[...]
I get exactly the same errors you get.

tuck
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 11:07 am

Re: The Bugs Thread

Post by tuck » Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:09 pm

Same errors here, using a MacBook Pro too.

User avatar
Viking Zippy
Wooter
Posts: 1215
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: Milky Way
Contact:

Re: Alpha 3 Error Messages on Mac Pro OS X 10.5

Post by Viking Zippy » Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:12 pm

kakashi1000 wrote:
thingythekid wrote:[...]
I get exactly the same errors you get.
Same here, in the exact same order even.

Kalexon
Kalexon
Posts: 339
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 8:46 pm
Location: Serenity

Re: The Bugs Thread

Post by Kalexon » Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:31 pm

I have the same problem with the OpenGL errors, except mine "Quits while being unresponsive"

User avatar
BunnyWithStick
Gramps, Jr.
Posts: 4297
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 12:14 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: The Bugs Thread

Post by BunnyWithStick » Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:53 pm

Funny, I didn't record them but I'm pretty sure I saw the exact same errors in the exact same order while loading. Didn't crash at the end, of course.

User avatar
tailsfanatic
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: To the left of my right
Contact:

Re: The Bugs Thread

Post by tailsfanatic » Wed Dec 03, 2008 1:05 pm

On my Mac I get the same OpenGL errors as thingythekid. Also, my fps is 3.

All package files are set to default settings; I got all those errors the first time I opened Alpha 3.

First time its opened, it takes approximately 6-7 minutes to load.
Loading time is approximately 2 minutes after the first time.

Stats:
Computer and OS: 2007 Desktop iMac running Mac OS 10.4.11
Processor: 2 GHz Intel Core Duo
RAM: 2x 512MB DDR2 SDRAM
Video Card: 128MB VRAM ATY RadeonX1600
Display: 1440 x 900, Millions

User avatar
marmorek
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 5:38 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: The Bugs Thread

Post by marmorek » Wed Dec 03, 2008 9:16 pm

Alpha 3

Mac OS X 10.5.5 Aluminum iMac 2.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 300 GB Hard Drive, ATI Radeon HD2600 with 256 MB VRAM.

I got these error messages when launching (which took a very long time):

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

Once the game launched, the light wasn't working correctly. Everything was in shadow. Not completely black, but quite dark.

THeFooJoo
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 4:15 am

Re: The Bugs Thread

Post by THeFooJoo » Thu Dec 04, 2008 1:28 am

I'm not sure if I want to call it a bug, but the camera perspective/FOV is really disorienting. There needs to be an option to change this in the future.

tekn04
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:19 am

Re: The Bugs Thread

Post by tekn04 » Thu Dec 04, 2008 10:30 am

Weird angular lines are coming from the leaves of the joshua tree:
hmmmm.png

User avatar
Glabbit
Posts: 4917
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 8:38 am
Location: A mile away, with your shoes!

Re: The Bugs Thread

Post by Glabbit » Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:11 pm

Yeah, once I got round to saying "Oh dear, I missed an alpha!" and got num 3 down, I was disappointed to find the same long list of complaints from my (dad's (I have to be honest here)) computer.

So that means that so far, Alpha 1 has been the most compliant to me.
Huh.
Irony.

Jeff
Evil Twin
Posts: 2892
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 10:48 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: The Bugs Thread

Post by Jeff » Thu Dec 04, 2008 2:29 pm

Glabbit wrote:Yeah, once I got round to saying "Oh dear, I missed an alpha!" and got num 3 down, I was disappointed to find the same long list of complaints from my (dad's (I have to be honest here)) computer.

So that means that so far, Alpha 1 has been the most compliant to me.
Huh.
Irony.
As mentioned, these are "leaked" builds. Please don't think of them as polished previews of Overgrowth, it's just a way to give you guys something to try out every week. Otherwise, please wait for David's blessed builds.

User avatar
ahruman
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: The Bugs Thread

Post by ahruman » Thu Dec 04, 2008 2:39 pm

tekn04 wrote:Weird angular lines are coming from the leaves of the joshua tree:
This one can be fixed by editing alpha map of the texture (Data/Textures/Plants/Trees/Joshua_Color.tga). Open it in any editor which can edit the alpha channel directly and the problem should be obvious.

User avatar
Glabbit
Posts: 4917
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 8:38 am
Location: A mile away, with your shoes!

Re: The Bugs Thread

Post by Glabbit » Fri Dec 05, 2008 8:44 am

Jeff wrote:
Glabbit wrote:Yeah, once I got round to saying "Oh dear, I missed an alpha!" and got num 3 down, I was disappointed to find the same long list of complaints from my (dad's (I have to be honest here)) computer.

So that means that so far, Alpha 1 has been the most compliant to me.
Huh.
Irony.
As mentioned, these are "leaked" builds. Please don't think of them as polished previews of Overgrowth, it's just a way to give you guys something to try out every week. Otherwise, please wait for David's blessed builds.
Don't worry, Jeff. Never said I did. =p

Post Reply