[Map]/[Mod] Kit PvP

EgyptFalcon

[Map]/[Mod] Kit PvP

Post by EgyptFalcon » Thu Jul 02, 2015 6:28 pm

This is so far my third map, but my first mod. Getting into the modding flow, I have a lot of questions, but I'll save those for later. What I did here was simply add a few characteristics to the playerAttributeUpdater.as that is used in the medikit hotspot as well as the player updater hotspot. I added attack knockback, fat, muscle, ear size, and fixed the code for attack speed. There was a typo telling it to look for attack damage. I was unable to change character scale as I am only learning how to do this by trial and error. I didn't add block skill nor block follow-up because they didn't seem to affect combat much in my trial runs. Anyway, the original attribute updates inspired me to make "blessings" such as in Skyrim, but then I realized permanent changes could be more fun.

In this versus map, each player selects one of five classes (Striker, Tank Man, Warrior, Rogue, Scout) and enters the arena to fight. Each class has a short description of its strengths and weaknesses but this displays on the opponent's screen. To avoid this, jump over the text hotspot. Each player then receives a weapon assigned to their class, and joins the arena. There are landmines and rag doll areas to watch out for. Atop the towers are medikit hotspots that regenerate health so be careful not to let your opponent reach them!

I believe the dependencies are twowolves' medikit hotspot, Gyrth's landmine, haphazzard's vertical boost, steelraven's hotspot pack, and of course the kit_hotspot that is included.