procedural animations from lugaru 2

Anything related to Wolfire Games and/or its products
deadrabit

procedural animations from lugaru 2

Post by deadrabit » Fri Oct 31, 2008 4:16 am

Hi,

I'm also an indie game developer, and i wanted to add procedural/dynamic physics based animations to my game engine, mainly because i'm an aweful animator.

anyway, I've been looking into the work done by Petros Faloutsos and a few other who i've lost the links to there pages...

anyway, in my searches i've stumbled accross wolfire, and lugaru, and after days of searching i've found a similar application which i'm presuming (and praying) doesnt require insane quantities of data input or a motion capture machine.

although i'm in the early stages of development (currently optimising IK algorithms..) I'm moving towards this type of animation... and i want to know everything about it! or at least some information.

from what i can guess sofar is that theres some controller AI FSM that chooses actions (walk run jump) and those actions from the youtube videos are made with learning algorithms on a model that has physics applied to it.

I'm interested in what kind of learning algorithm is used (genetic & darwinian AI, neural nets?), whats input into the learning algorithm, presumably the learning algorithm provides FK for a certain task, and then IK is applied to the extremeties(hands/feet) to make good contact.
are there any papers/theses that i can read that were used to develop these

agh, so many questions, though i'm most interested in the learning algorithm. =]

sorry if this is out of place, or considered rude. I've just spent days at this with minimal success, I was very excited to stumble upon wolfire at 2am =p

thanks allot,
Dead.Rabit

Derakon

Re: procedural animations from lugaru 2

Post by Derakon » Fri Oct 31, 2008 11:53 am